WCAG 2.2 updates are coming. Are you ready?

With version 2.2 of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) currently due to launch between July to September 2023, we want to give you a heads-up on what the main changes will be.

WCAG 2.1 covers a wide range of recommendations for making Web content more accessible. WCAG 2.2 will build upon WCAG 2.1 to enhance accessibility for people with cognitive or learning disabilities, low vision, and those using mobile devices. 

Many of the new success criteria are complex and offer multiple techniques to meet success criteria requirements. We’re running a webinar in June, where we’ll deep-dive into the upcoming WCAG 2.2 change, (more information coming soon).

Here's an overview of the key changes in WCAG 2.2 and why they are important.

Why are the changes in WCAG 2.2 important?

Due to the UK leaving the European Union, the public sector body accessibility regulations have been amended. The technical standard for regulations in the UK has changed from the previous European standard EN 301 549 to the version of WCAG recommended by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) - currently WCAG 2.1. It includes Level A and AA success criteria.

Therefore, at present, there are no changes to the requirements - public sector websites, intranets, extranets and mobile apps are still expected to meet WCAG 2.1 at level AA. However, when the final version of WCAG 2.2 is released (expected Q3 2023), that will automatically become the “recommended” version of WCAG and, due to the regulation changes, will be the new requirements for all public sector bodies.

WCAG 2.2 expands on the existing requirements of 2.1 and adds additional guidance focused on three major groups: people with cognitive or learning disabilities, people with low vision, and people with disabilities on mobile devices.

This new guidance forms 9 new success criteria:

  • 2.4.11 Focus Not Obscured (Minimum) (AA)
  • 2.4.12 Focus Not Obscured (Enhanced) (AAA)
  • 2.4.13 Focus Appearance (AAA)
  • 2.5.7 Dragging Movements (AAA)
  • 2.5.8 Target Size (Minimum) (AA)
  • 3.2.6 Consistent Help (A)
  • 3.3.7 Redundant Entry (A)
  • 3.3.8 Accessible Authentication (Minimum) (AA)
  • 3.3.9 Accessible Authentication (Enhanced) (AAA)

In the webinar, we’ll be taking a more detailed look at each of the new success criteria, along with what techniques can be used to meet them.

What next steps do I need to take?

To prepare you for WCAG 2.2 updates we recommend you:

  • Review the new WCAG 2.2’s success criteria, to understand what changes you need to make.
  • Book an audit with us to go through your website to pick up any WCAG 2.2 updates needed.
  • Review your accessibility statement to check that it’s up to date and reflects the latest changes to WCAG.

We’re here to help.

Join our webinar in June (more information coming soon), where we’ll deep-dive into the upcoming WCAG 2.2 changes and answer any questions you may have! 

Get in touch with us to learn more about the Jadu Digital Platform. 

Back to Blog

Leave a comment